MONTGOMERY – The Alabama Retail Association has completed its slate of officers and board of directors for 2020. Their terms of office begin Jan. 1.

The officers for 2020 are:

Chairman: Todd Noden, president, Books-A-Million, Birmingham-based, Alabama and 30 other states (Interview with ARA's new chairman):

Vice Chairman: Jodie Stanfield, owner, Local Joe’s, Rainbow City, Albertville and Southside;

Treasurer: Bob Akers, vice president, Davis Direct, Montgomery;

President: Richard E. “Rick” Brown Jr., Alabama Retail Association, Montgomery;

Noden, Stanfield, Akers and Brown serve as Alabama Retail’s executive committee along with: Immediate Past Chairman: Jacob Shevin, president, Standard Furniture, Alabama and Tennessee; and

Executive Committee Designee: Michael Gee, Pants Store, Leeds-based. The board secretary is the Alabama Retail Association’s Jennifer Henderson.

The 2020 directors for the Alabama Retail Association are (*also officers, **new director):

Bob Akers*, Davis Direct, Montgomery

Wogan Badcock III, W. S. Badcock Corp., Mulberry, Fla.;

Dustin Beaty, Hospital Discount Pharmacy, Jasper; Lavish Boutique and Coffee Bar, Jasper and Cullman

Raymond Cohen, Cohens Electronics and Appliances Inc., Montgomery;

Kealon Drake, Moe’s Southwest Grill, Vestavia Hills/Anniston-Oxford/Auburn/Birmingham/Decatur/Homewood/Hoover/Huntsville/Madison/Opelika;

Mike Elkins, Unclaimed Baggage Center, Scottsboro;

Michael Gee*, Pants Store, Leeds/Huntsville/Mountain Brook/Trussville/Tuscaloosa;

Howard Johnson, Sneaky Pete’s Hot Dogs, Bessemer;

Skip Johnston, J & M Bookstore Inc., Auburn;

David S. Marks III, Marks Furniture Co., Spanish Fort;

Will Meacham, Midtown Pizza Kitchen, Montgomery;

Todd Noden*, Books-A-Million, Birmingham;

Melissa Parker-Paul, Yancy Parker Lifestyles Inc., Enterprise;

Katherine Bell Raynor, CVS Health, Atlanta, Ga.;

Robert A. Robicheaux (retired), Birmingham;

Tammy Rogers, Beaumont Pharmacy & Gift Boutique, Birmingham;

Fred Roth, Best Buy Co. Inc., Bessemer;

Jacob Shevin*, Standard Furniture, Birmingham/Bessemer/Cullman/Fayette/Gardendale/Graysville/Hartselle/Leeds/Moulton/Pelham/Pell City/Talladega;

Shane Spiller, Spiller Furniture & Mattress,Tuscaloosa/Aliceville/Eutaw/Northport/Prattville/Selma/Thomasville/


Jodie Stanfield*, Local Joe’s, Rainbow City, Albertville and Southside;

Lynsey Todd, Monograms Plus of Cullman, Cullman;

Jeremy Walker, Target, Trussville;

John M. Wilson, Big Bear of Luverne Inc., Luverne and Greenville.

Jimmy Wright**, Wright’s Market, Opelika

Ex-officio directors, who include past presidents and chairmen, are: Rodney Barstein, Retail Specialists Inc., Birmingham; Darrell Bourne (retired), Huntsville; Frederick W. “Ricky” Bromberg, Bromberg & Co. Inc., Birmingham; Peter V. “Greg” Gregerson Jr., Gregerson’s Foods, Gadsden; Claude “Bud” Kitchin IV, Lincoln; Jim Rotenstreich, JHF Holdings Inc., Birmingham; Jimmy D. Smith (retired) and Jimmy Ray Smith, Jimmy Smith Jewelers, Decatur; Dianne Wammack (retired), Vestavia Hills; and George Wilder, The Locker Room, Montgomery and Auburn.